CT Trends

It’s official! Rohit Shetty’s Sooryavanshi starring Akshay & Katrina arrives in cinemas this Diwali

Sooryavanshi has been waiting for its release for a long time. The third instalment in Rohit Shetty’s cop franchise will be released this Diwali, starring Akshay Kumar and Katrina Kaif and including appearances from Ajay Devgn and Ranveer Singh. Maharashtra indicated that theatres would open throughout the state in October, prompting the confirmation of the release.

Rohit Shetty posted a photo of Thackeray on Twitter with the caption, “Thanks to our Honourable Chief Minister, Shri Uddhav Thackeray, theatres in Maharashtra to reopen from 22nd October.
And FINALLY!!! we can say, This DIWALI… AA RAHI HAI POLICE…”


Because of the coronavirus outbreak, the big-budget film has been postponed several times. It was supposed to be released on March 24, 2020, but India was put on lockdown just a few days before. Theatres were allowed to reopen on October 15 of last year, with a 50% occupancy level. The Sooryavanshi team then awaited a rise in the occupancy cap. The federal government declared an increase in occupancy in February 2021, which encouraged production companies to arrange their movie for theatres. Sooryavanshi’s crew then stated that the film will be released on April 30.

However, due to the terrible second wave of the epidemic, which forced most states into lockdown, the film was once again postponed. Sooryavanshi was one of the rare films that declined to go the OTT way and instead opted for a more traditional release.

Follow us on Google News Cinetalkers Google News Publication
Show More


In a world full of writers, I'll just be another one with an edge to be the best. I am a content writer by trade and part-time poet.
Back to top button